This collection features concise medical cases in an interactive format, helping students learn and apply clinical medicine through more than 1,100 real patient cases.
Developed as a self-assessment tool, it allows students (under faculty recommendation) to evaluate their knowledge on a subject and track their progress, enabling individualized performance monitoring.
Access Medicine is a resource that contains up-to-date medical information from the McGraw-Hill publisher.
Who is it for?
Access Medicine is aimed at medical and health science students: It provides students with the necessary resources for their studies.
For healthcare professionals and professors: It also includes leading textbooks to assist with decision-making, videos, and self-assessment tools.
You can create an account from Access Medicine or from Case Files.
If you don't log in, not all available search results will be displayed by default.
The "Case Files" tab in Access Medicine is for professors only, allowing them to include clinical cases in their curriculum.
To keep your Access profile active, you must log in every 90 days from your university, through VPN or your institution's library website.
If you log in from an account, search results are automatically limited to subscription results. If you don't log in, by default, not all available search results will be shown.
It includes a collection of brief medical cases in an interactive format to learn and apply clinical medicine through real patient cases.
It contains 23 books from the Case Files series, which are divided into basic sciences, clinical medicine, and postgraduate cases.
Each case includes:
The cases have a URL that professors can copy from the browser and embed in an LMS (Learning Management System) to assign to students for completion.
A basic search generates a large number of results. This type of search is recommended for an initial exploration of a topic.
The option to search by title, author, or ISBN is now available in the query generator located on the left side of the search results page. You can also filter by content format, textbook, and topic using the filter options below the query generator.
When a search is performed, the search algorithm uses an implicit "AND" by default to improve the relevance of the results.
This search engine does not support boolean searches with "NOT" or "OR."
For example, a search for "abdominal pain" without this implicit "AND" operation would return results that include either "abdominal" or "pain," resulting in many irrelevant results.
How are the cases structured in Case Files?
Each case includes a patient presentation, discussion questions, detailed explanations, and a summary of key points.
What medical specialties are covered by Case Files?
Case Files covers a wide range of specialties, including internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, psychiatry, gynecology and obstetrics, among others.
Does Case Files include self-assessment questions?
Yes, each case includes self-assessment questions to help measure your understanding and retention of the material.
Does Case Files offer additional resources for profesors?
Yes, some volumes of Case Files include instructor guides and additional resources to aid in teaching.
Directory